top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah

Hip, Hip, Hooray!


Well, hi! It's been a minute since I posted anything so I figured I would give an update.


Since my last post I started a new program at NSCAD, graduated from St.FX with my MEd, and got a full hip replacement! Last post I went into some detail about having AVN (avascular necrosis) due to the steroids I had to take as part of my treatment. After some more x-rays we know that I have it in both hips and shoulders. I have also had a subchondral fracture in my right shoulder since September due to AVN.

Fractured shoulder

Two and a half weeks ago I got a full right hip replacement. If you didn't follow along on my IG adventure, here's how it went:

PRIME parking spot

So this is what my new hip looks like...



Siri, put on my most relaxing playlist...


Snuck a pic in the OR 😎

New hip, who dis?
Wild.

New friend

Me and my friend enjoying some fresh air

Me and my friend getting stitches out 2 weeks post-op

Currently working on gaining muscle so I can graduate from walker to cane. Will be seeing my surgeon next week so we'll see what he says about how I'm doing in terms of recovery. I was really concerned about the scar and didn't look at the incision until I got the stitches out 2 weeks after the surgery. It turned out better than I thought and it's actually smaller (5 inches) than they had told me it would be (6-8 inches)!


In other news I started a new program at NSCAD in September - it's a visual arts program for teachers. Basically you take some art history courses, studio courses (drawing, painting, ceramics, photography, etc.), and then some teacher methodology courses. In the first semester I did 20th century art history, visual culture, and an extended studies drawing class. It was all very interesting and my appreciation for different styles of art is growing! As an elementary school teacher you are responsible for teaching art, so I thought this program would be rewarding both professionally and personally.

I am also happy to share that I am one of two honoured heroes for Light the Night 2020 in Halifax!

Finally, I was originally going to make a post with updates at the beginning of the new decade reflecting on the past 10 years but didn't end up doing that. So instead here are some amazing memories!


Thank you to all my family and friends for constantly lifting me up (often literally now, haha) and bringing happiness and humour to my life every day. You are the best!!!


As always, here's a few memes that make me laugh. Hopefully they make you laugh, too.

Thanks for checking in 😊


bottom of page